Page 1 of 2

bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 30 Dec 2010, 10:42
by salaman
Altap Salamander 2.54

PLEASE ENTER YOUR BUG REPORT HERE: button doesn't open control panel

see the attached file for more details

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 31 Dec 2010, 00:05
by SelfMan
Please can you be more specific? Which button? Which control panel? Supply a creenshot if possible.
Thank you.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 31 Dec 2010, 21:16
by Ether
I think salaman meant the Open Control Panel button available on the Top Toolbar.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 31 Dec 2010, 23:19
by SelfMan
Ether wrote:I think salaman meant the Open Control Panel button available on the Top Toolbar.
LoL, I've never used that button. And if I remeber right, I've never used any of the buttons. I am a all keyboard user.

To the problem, I believe that there must be some error within the CLASS registry.

Jan, can you specify which keys to check? (no spare time here... I have to party :lol: )

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 01 Jan 2011, 08:36
by Jan Rysavy
We are calling SHGetSpecialFolderLocation with CSIDL_CONTROLS parameter to get the location, then ShellExecuteEx to open it with Windows Explorer.

What about other commands from Commands > Open Folder?

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 02 Jan 2011, 09:17
by salaman
Jan Rysavy wrote:We are calling SHGetSpecialFolderLocation with CSIDL_CONTROLS parameter to get the location, then ShellExecuteEx to open it with Windows Explorer.

What about other commands from Commands > Open Folder?
Only Fonts seem to work. I use the manager with Administrator privileges, while working under regular user. That's why I need "Open control panel" and "Recycle bin" buttons.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 10 Jan 2011, 12:11
by Textor
salaman wrote:Altap Salamander 2.54
PLEASE ENTER YOUR BUG REPORT HERE: button doesn't open control panel
see the attached file for more details
Cannot confirm - all Toolbar buttons opening system folders & locations work as designed, including Desktop, Documents, Network and Control Panel .

I am running Salamander 2.54 on Windows 7 32bit with Admin priviledges.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 10 Jan 2011, 21:07
by Ether
salaman wrote:button doesn't open control panel
Works for me on Win7x64 (UAC on). Could you try it on another system?

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 10 Jan 2011, 22:33
by therube
I use the manager with Administrator privileges, while working under regular user.
And you do that how? Logged in as a regular (Limited is it) user. Then using runas to run Salamander?
C:> RUNAS /USER:Administrator salamand.exe


While running as a Limited user, if you open an elevated (Admin level) command prompt, & type in CONTROL, does that open Control Panel?
C:> CONTROL


Might it be a "limited" "Admin" account having restrictions set (even though it is "Admin") from opening Control Panel?


Your bug report was caused by an actual exception & not simply you issuing a Break?

LanmanRedirector have any bearing?

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 08:29
by salaman
therube wrote:
I use the manager with Administrator privileges, while working under regular user.
And you do that how? Logged in as a regular (Limited is it) user. Then using runas to run Salamander?
C:> RUNAS /USER:Administrator salamand.exe


While running as a Limited user, if you open an elevated (Admin level) command prompt, & type in CONTROL, does that open Control Panel?
C:> CONTROL
The last one doesn't work... Seems that the problem has nothing to do with Salamander, according to what was posted here.

Can someone please point me at the real problem?

OFFTOP is there an option to save shortcuts to directories ? sort of bookmarks?

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 08:41
by SelfMan
A better way to fix such problem is to do a repair reinstall of windows. It takes less time than chasing ghosts.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 13:01
by Textor
salaman wrote:OFFTOP is there an option to save shortcuts to directories ? sort of bookmarks?
If you don't mind a tiny bit of programming, Autohotkey (http://www.autohotkey.com/) can do this, and many other tasks as well.

An extra shortcut to the desktop, only active when Salamander is running in the foreground, and activated by Shift+t, looks like this:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class SalamanderMainWindowVer25
+t::
send +{F7}
sendinput %A_Desktop% {enter}
return

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 13:31
by salaman
Textor wrote:
salaman wrote:OFFTOP is there an option to save shortcuts to directories ? sort of bookmarks?
If you don't mind a tiny bit of programming, Autohotkey (http://www.autohotkey.com/) can do this, and many other tasks as well.

An extra shortcut to the desktop, only active when Salamander is running in the foreground, and activated by Shift+t, looks like this:

Code: Select all

#IfWinActive, ahk_class SalamanderMainWindowVer25
+t::
send +{F7}
sendinput %A_Desktop% {enter}
return
this shortcut will open the desired path inside the Salamander ?

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 13:54
by Textor
salaman wrote:This shortcut will open the desired path inside the Salamander ?
Yes, it is specifically limited to work only when Salamander is running and has the focus.

Did I misunderstand, and you wanted certain folders opened outside of Salamander?

That can be done as well, with the Windows Explorer, or in other programs of your choice.

BTW, depending on what you are looking for, maybe this ready-to-use AHK application is all you need:

http://foldermenu.sourceforge.net/
Folder Menu is a folder switching tool.
You can quickly jump to your favorite folders in explorer, open/save dialog or command prompt...and more.
You can also launch your favorite folders, files or urls.

Re: bug: button doesn't open control panel

Posted: 11 Jan 2011, 14:08
by salaman
Textor wrote:
salaman wrote:This shortcut will open the desired path inside the Salamander ?
Yes, it is specifically limited to work only when Salamander is running and has the focus.

Did I misunderstand, and you wanted certain folders opened outside of Salamander?

That can be done as well, with the Windows Explorer, or in other programs of your choice.

BTW, depending on what you are looking for, maybe this ready-to-use AHK application is all you need:

http://foldermenu.sourceforge.net/
Folder Menu is a folder switching tool.
You can quickly jump to your favorite folders in explorer, open/save dialog or command prompt...and more.
You can also launch your favorite folders, files or urls.
No, you got everything right - i was asking about solution for Salamander which allows to make multiple shortcuts :) Thank you.
I actually was hoping that there's another, more native way of creating shortcuts, but still, as you said - i don't mind to write a little of code.